Last night I laid my head on my pillow and literally almost giggled myself to sleep. I drifted off to sleep with such joy and thankfulness in my heart.

That’s what happens when you spend an evening with friends.

The kind of friends who have walked with you through heartache and celebrated with you during times of joy.

Friends that know sometimes what a girl needs is an evening of cupcakes, coffee, hot glue, and laughter.

As I drifted to sleep last night, my mind kept thinking back to 6 years ago.

Six years ago, our family had picked up and moved to Tulsa, Oklahoma.   It was the next step in a leap of faith that we had taken for Joe to ‘start over’ in his career/ministry path.

We didn’t know a single person in Tulsa, but the excitement of a new direction in life filled our hearts as we drove northeastward on I-44 with our two preschool children and all of our possessions packed up in a minivan and U-haul.

I remember seeing the beauty of the Tulsa hills as we approached the city. Despite the beauty, the excitement turned to fear.

What in the world are we doing moving to a new state for the third time in our short 8 years of marriage?

I then remembered how difficult each move had been.  How lonely moving to a place where you know no one can be.  I had done it 6 times in my life.  I knew very well what was ahead for me.

No joke, I turned on the radio to see if I could find a good station to distract me and the Brandon Heath song, “Don’t Get Comfortable”  blared through my minivan.  Tears streamed down my face as I wanted to believe the words of this song, yet knowing that there were likely many lonely days ahead for me as a stay at home mom of two preschoolers in a city where I didn’t even have one single friend.

That first night in Tulsa was the first of many nights in the coming year that I would lay my head down in my pillow and soak it with tears.

I longed to have just one friend to call to come over and share a cup of coffee and conversation.

I mourned the friendships I had left behind in the two other states where we had lived.  The kind of friends who know from the sound of your voice and the look in your eyes that you need a word of encouragement or who come snatch your two preschool kids to give you the little break you desperately need from mothering little ones.

That almost seems like a lifetime ago.

During those first years in Tulsa, God brought two friends into my life who were just what I needed.

One of them was that friend who would call and come pick up my kids to go to her house to play…even though I hadn’t even told her I desperately needed a break.

The other friend is the polar opposite of me in almost every aspect, yet our paths divinely crossed in those first years in Tulsa because God knew I needed more laughter in my life.  And this friend…well hands down she is the funniest person I have met in my entire life.

Last night I spent the evening with these two friends who took it upon themselves to do something for me because they know it is exactly what I need.  These friends know me well enough to know that decorating a baby’s room is not high on a priority list for me.  They know that I am big and tired and well just not as motivated as I was as a young whipper snapper pregnant 20 something.

These two girlfriends, who are both unfairly talented in their crafting and decorating skills, gathered some of my other sweet friends and last night we all worked together on craft projects to decorate baby Bethanny’s room.

Curtains, pillowcases, hair accessory frame, letters to spell Bethanny’s name, a lamp, a canvas

And though all of these things were amazing, the sweetest part of the evening was the laughter that filled the rooms as we spent the evening together.

I wish I could go back to that young mom of two preschoolers that I was six years ago and wrap my arms around her and tell her, “Hang on.  Trust in God’s promises.  Believe in the prayers that your mother prayed over you as a child to have friends who are there for you in times of need, and that influence you in a path of chasing after the Father.  Rest in His arms now, friends are on their way….and by the way you wouldn’t even believe it if I told you how truly amazing these friends will be.”

As I laid my head down on my pillow last night, my eyes were teary but this time my heart was overflowing with joy as I recounted the stories told throughout the evening and thought about the adorable room that awaits our sweet Bethanny.

“Weeping may last for the night, but joy comes with the morning”  Psalm 30:5

There are still a few things being finished up but here’s just a few of the amazing things my friends did for sweet Bethanny’s room.

I promised them that with the next child I will keep it to two or three letters

I promised them that with the next child I will keep it to two or three letters

DSC_1002 (3)

DSC_1001 (3)DSC_1003 (2)

Dresser cycled into a changing table... like I said these friends are unfairly talented.

Dresser upcycled into a changing table… like I said these friends are unfairly talented.

