This post is dedicated to all my teacher friends out there who have to go to work and deal with rowdy kids on cold, snowy days….may all those who have never worked in a public school system be moved to turn an ‘ordinary, thankless day’ into a blessed day for you!

10.  A school’s strength is a reflection of its leadership.  Quality teachers are molded by quality administration.

9.  Most teachers hate items that have apples on them.  **revision…unless it is a product of the Apple company!  If you can afford that kind of ‘apple’ for your child’s teacher….GO FOR IT!

8.  Teachers wish they didn’t have to test your child either!

7.  When a 6’6 8th grader says, “Step back Ms B.  I don’t want to hit you too.  But I will if you get in the way of me hitting ‘Marcus’”…..get out of the way QUICK!

6.  There are more hardworking teachers than lazy teachers.  The hardworking teachers wish the lazy ones could be ‘untenured’ as much as the parents and administration do.

5.  Jeans on Friday make all things tolerable.

4.  Every school has workaholic teachers who sacrifice their families for the students (don’t get me started on why I didn’t like the acclaimed movie Freedom  Writers…seen too many teacher’s families fall apart). Pray for teachers and their families

3.  Honesty blended with a healthy dose of sarcasm is the best teaching method.  In the past twenty years since learning how to use the quadratic formula and to balance chemical equations, I have never used either in ‘real’ life.  Teachers have a difficult job.

2.  Thank you for the handmade facial scrub (yep…I got that once!), but teachers prefer gift cards.

1.  Teachers want to sleep in on cold snowy days as much as kids.

On this wet, snowy day school was not cancelled.  I still had to take my son in early for his tutoring before school.  His teacher met us with a smile.  Amongst getting ready to administrate a National standardized test, she took time out of her morning to help my son.

When I came back to drop off my daughter, the amazing counselor and PE teacher directed traffic in the freezing rain with the precision of a General directing troops for battle.

On days like these, I think of all the ‘thankless’ days in the life of a teacher.

Today was one of those days for the teachers at my kid’s school.

Joe and I decided early on that instead of giving extravagant holiday gifts to the employees at our kid’s school, we would give them small tokens of appreciation on “thankless days” like today.

A bagel for a teacher on testing days can turn a dreadful day into a blessed day.  Thank you Mrs. S!

A bagel for a teacher on testing days can turn a dreadful day into a blessed day. Thank you Mrs. S!

$5 gift cards to Starbucks, Sonic, or McAlisters can show those teachers that you see doing extra duties each day that they are blessed!  Thank you Ms. O and Ms. S

$5 gift cards to Starbucks, Sonic, or McAlister’s can show those teachers that you see doing extra duties each day that they are a blessing! Thank you Ms. O and Ms. S for keeping us all safe on a yucky day!

