Two years ago Tulsans were tired of snow.  After two weeks most people had had enough.

Joe and I secretly wanted it to last longer.  Sure we felt sorry for those hourly workers who weren’t getting income.  Yes, we realized the kids wouldn’t get out of school til mid June or so.

Besides the treacherous adventure I sent Joe out on because I ran out of coffee, Joe and I will always remember those two weeks of being trapped in the house as being some of the most fun our family has ever had together.

I had to get creative in cooking.  Joe carved his first duck decoy.  We built an igloo (thank you YouTube).

So when the following winter rolled around, we secretly wished for another (shorter of course) blizzard to keep up trapped in the house for a few days.

It didn’t happen.

In fact, Tulsa didn’t get any snow last winter.  The snow boots and ski pants I bought on clearance never got used.  The sleds I bought at a consignment sale stayed tucked away in the attic.

And  it seemed that this year, too, we would once again have to wave another winter goodbye without a single snow.

Joe and I have been quite jealous of all of our Southern Oklahoma and Texas friends who have seen more snow this year than in the history of Texas.

No fair!  We only saw two good snows in our 8 years of living in Texas.

One of the snows was during my first year as an 8th grade teacher.  Many of my students had NEVER seen snow.  Being the young whipper snapper 23 year old teacher….I snuck my students out to play….I am sure all the veteran teachers were rolling their eyes at me. 

The principal just looked out and smiled.  I mean I was a science teacher and snow is definitely a great lesson in science.

Today it came.  The forecasters were finally right.  It didn’t start snowing until morning, so the kids had to go to school.

The snow accumulated all day long.

I counted down the minutes until the kids were out of school.  I got hot cocoa ready.  The sleds were finally gonna get to be used.

I’ve wondered what it is about snow that I love so much.

I think that it is simply the fact that when it snows, the otherwise dreary winter is turned into something miraculously beautiful.

Snow brings out the fun in winter.  The snowmen.  The sleds.  The smiles. The laughter.

Perhaps I love that snow brings us out of our homes to meet the neighbors we have never met.

Today we met a sweet Thai family who just moved in down the street.  They had never seen snow.  They were using a box lid to sled and were grateful that our kids wanted to share their ‘new’ sleds.

What are the chances that I had something to talk to them about since my brother just happens to be in Thailand right now..hmmmm…as Joe would say 100% God.

As I look at all the wet clothes and boots piled on the floor, I realize that it will all be gone tomorrow.

Likely, we won’t have another snow this year.

Now…if only it will freeze over tonight and we get that fun call from the school…”No classes today.”  Every child’s dream.

DSC_1424DSC_1457DSC_1471

I went to put my camera up in the car and Brook decided that she wanted a snowman.  Smart thang rolled the snow down the hill.

I went to put my camera up in the car and Brook decided that she wanted a snowman. Smart thang rolled the snow down the hill.

Determination and good accessories make for a great snow man.

Determination and good accessories make for a great snow man. I bought a snowman kit 10 years ago and it has been one of my best purchases ever.

DSC_1449

We had a couple of friends join us...Joe was chompin at the bit to shoot them.

We had a couple of friends join us…Joe was chompin at the bit to shoot them.

They must have sensed the danger, because they quickly flew away!

They must have sensed the danger, because they quickly flew away!

Goodness.  Snow really brings out the fine lines.  Or maybe it is that gray bearded mountain man that makes me look older!

Goodness. Snow really brings out the fine lines. Or maybe it is that gray bearded mountain man that makes me look older!

