I have been settling into this unfamiliar role rather nicely.

Over the years I have fit into almost all the categories a woman might fit into.

Single full-time professional
Single part-time worker/part-time student
Married full-time professional
Married full-time student
Full time stay-at-home mom with preschoolers
Full time working mom with preschoolers
Part-time working mom with elementary school kids
Full-time working mom with elementary school kids

And now….a new one.

Full-time stay-at-home mom with elementary school kids.

It has been a weird adjustment.  I love working and especially loved working at my church.

When I sat down this week to dream, I asked myself “What shall I fill my time with when the kids are at school?”

I love a list.  And so I started filling my daughter’s easel chalkboard with all the things I need  and want to do this week.  Let’s just say Joe looked at me, rolled his eyes and said, “let’s take it easy…relax for a second would ya?”

When I knew I was going to step down from working at my church, one of the things that I wrestled with was whether or not to say yes to teaching a Bible study at the campus I had helped launch.

I prayed about it a lot.  Honestly, I love teaching Bible studies.  I mean I do have a theology degree somewhere in a box.  I have never shied away from this request of me.

But…I really didn’t want to commit to something  so soon.  I wanted to enjoy my ‘retirement’ for at least a month or two.

Funny how the Holy Spirit is…sometimes He is a quiet whisper in my ear.  Other times He has to use a megaphone of circumstances to get me to hear His voice and jolt me to action.

He had to pull out the megaphone for me to understand that He wanted me to teach the Bible Study.

And then, today I had one of those “what are the chances?” moments where I closed my eyes and immediately said, “Thank you for pulling out the megaphone.  I totally get it now”

This morning Joe asked me to run by my son’s doctor’s office to pick up some forms.  I added it to my chalkboard list.  (Simply so I would have the thrill of checking it off!)

I had an incredible ‘farewell’ luncheon with my coworkers and hurried across town to the doctor’s office.

There was only one car in the parking lot.  Weird for this time of year.  Then it dawned on me that the doctor takes Thursday afternoons off.

I almost didn’t go to the door because the lights seemed to be off.  Something told me to give it a try.

The doors were open.  The waiting room was empty.  There in a dark office sat one receptionist.

I let her know who I was and that I was picking up some of my son’s records.  She went to the back.

Her computer was playing a video of Bible teaching.  In my mind, I heard ‘someone’ say “Talk to her about it.”

My mind replied, “Really?  You can’t mean that.  I am probably an annoyance to her because I made her have to work.  Seriously.  I have places to go.  She has a video to watch.  I think it is best to just be on my way.”

The receptionist returned with the papers and told me “Have a great afternoon!”

“You too,” I said as I turned toward the door.

Then the gentle voice pulled out the megaphone, “TURN BACK AROUND!”

So, I did.  And asked a simple question.

“Who is that you are listening to?”

And the flood gates opened wide.  A simple question turned into a divine appointment.  And then an invitation to the Bible study and an exchange of emails.

What are the chances I would walk into this office at just this moment?  100% God

What are the chances she would live just a mile from the church where I will be teaching the Bible study next week?   100% God

What are the chances that the office would be empty and she would feel the freedom to share her story with me…someone whom she had never seen before?  100% God

What are the chances that the book that I will be teaching is the perfect Word from The Lord that she needs to hear?  100% God

As I drove away I thought, “What if I had ignored the megaphone?”

Chances are 100% that I wouldn’t have gotten to see the miracle of God ordaining my steps for His purposes in that moment.

I came home tonight and recounted it all to Joe and at the end said to him,

“What are the chances?”

My man of few words said, “100% –God”

Most over zealous checklist.  I only did two of these so far, but added several to the list that I had already done just so I could check them off.

My over zealous checklist. I only did two of these so far, but added several to the list that I had already done just so I could check them off.

This is what my amazing coworkers gave me today at lunch.  This is the verse that I had prayed over the ministry I led.  100% truth!

This is what my amazing coworkers gave me today at lunch. This is the verse that I had prayed over the ministry I led. 100% truth and I got to witness more than I could have imagined today!

