Eight years ago God put a vision in our minds and began building a passion in our hearts.  Had we known then the difficulties that lie ahead for our family, we might not have taken that ‘leap of faith’ to follow that passion and vision so quickly.

I recounted our journey in a blog this summer and you can read about it here.

And if you have time, read the follow-up to that blog here.

Many of you who read this blog have been on the journey with us the entire 8 years.  Some of you we have met along the journey. . .since the journey has led us to live in three different states in these eight years!

I am thrilled to inform you all that…today it came.  The moment we have waited on for so long.

I thought it was just an ordinary Thursday afternoon.

Rushed home from work to pick up the kids.

Pulled into the drive way.

Shuffled the kids in the house to get started on homework.

Checked the mail.

I stopped in my tracks and tried to hold back the tears.

There it was. . . the envelope that we have waited on for 8 years.  I just couldn’t wait on Joe to get home.  I had to know what it said.

I read slowly.  I read it over again and again.  “You have completed all the requirements to receive your license.” (they had to taint the excitement by reminding me to send them $100.00 to get it….what a crock!)

The kids had brought friends home with them from school, or I just might have run down the street shouting for joy.

Instead I called Joe.  I couldn’t wait.

I told him that I had to read him a letter from our son’s teacher.  I could hear him bracing himself over the phone.

As I read the words, there was silence on the other end.  Silence turned to confusion to elation as he realized I had pulled one of my usual practical jokes.

He had me read it to him again, just to let it soak in another time.

Will life be different for us tomorrow?

No.  Not really

What does this mean for our family?

That’s a good question.

Here’s what we are sure of:

God has been faithful to walk with us and guide us through every step of the journey we have been on for the past 8 years.

And you won’t believe what happened moments after I got off the phone with Joe.

He looked up and there in the sky was none other than  A RAINBOW.

Are you kidding me?  Seriously?

I would never claim to be Mrs. Noah.  I have seen hundreds of rainbows in the sky in my lifetime.

But I do not think it is a coincidence that this is the image that Joe was able to capture on his phone as he drove home from work on such a monumental day in the life of our family!

Joe's phone is so old, we don't even know how to get the pictures from it to the computer..being married to someone who doesn't care about technology is a love/hate kind of thing.

Joe’s phone is so old, we don’t even know how to get the pictures from it to the computer..being married to someone who doesn’t care about technology is a love/hate kind of thing.

And…if you are interested in winning a free CD…you might go over to my last blog…I am giving one away.  I hope to get around to drawing a winner next week sometime. . .or maybe I’ll do it this weekend…who knows….

