I got this book from my big sister for Christmas. The same sister who has made it one of her life’s goals to make me a girly girl. I was never much into high heels or make up or boys or love stories.

In the peacefulness of Christmas Day, I decided to crack it open and read the first chapter before I finished the other book I was reading on my Kindle app. “Generous Justice,” by Timothy Keller.

Before I knew it I was five chapters in and captivated by the love story I was reading. (You don’t even know how hard that is for me to admit)

I have started a few love stories in the past several years, but I have not finished a single one. To me it seems that most love stories don’t portray reality, and I get frustrated.

I also get disappointed that authors and movie directors don’t leave anything to the reader or watcher’s imagination. And this is one of my favorite things about Ree Drummond’s book chronicling her own love story with her husband.

Perhaps as she wrote she realized that her daughters’ would one day read it, and thus she left out the details that would gross them out. Maybe she left out the intimate details because her cowboy wouldn’t allow her to write them out.

Whatever the reason, leaving out the details allowed me to be able to read her love story to the end and come away having enjoyed it and unbelievably I will actually recommend it to anyone who asks me about it.

Are there better love stories out there? Sure. Is it a good, Christian read? That’s debatable. Will I buy a ticket to go see the movie? Absolutely…that is if the movie director uses the same restraint as Mrs. Drummond did in her writing.

Half-way through the book, I realized my affinity towards it.

I, too, fell in love with a cowboy though when I met Joe, he had left his life on the farm and working in the vet clinic to pursue a calling to seminary.

Still…the descriptions of Marlboro Man took me back to the days when my heart began falling head over heels in love with Joe.

I remember the first time I saw pictures of Joe in his cowboy hat, jeans, and boots. My heart skipped a beat. As I read this book, I relived those romantic days as Joe and I were just getting to know each other.

Though he had given up the cowboy attire to attend seminary, in those days I would stare at those pictures and couldn’t believe I was in love with a real live cowboy.

George Straight. Clint Black. Marlboro Man. Joe Buxton.

Though we were both from Oklahoma, we had grown up in two entirely different worlds. I had not dated much before Joe, but I did have several crushes. None of those crushes were on a cowboy.

As I read “Black Heels to Tractor Wheels,” I found my head flooded with memories of the passion I had for Joe in those early days of getting to know him.

The first time I saw Joe saddle a horse.

Our first ride together on a horse.

Drooling over his muscular arms (from hauling hay of course).

The first time he came to pick me up in his old farm truck (which by the way had a bench seat, not bucket seats like the Marlboro Man’s).

What was my biggest take away from The Pioneer Woman‘s book?

We should all write out our love stories in book form and be required to read them once a year. To revisit the days when our love for our spouses was so new and exciting.

Then, when our kids are old enough to handle it….allow them to read our ‘love stories’ as a way to understand fully when they are of dating age that we ‘have been in their shoes.’

Passion is a beautiful, God-created thing.  True, passionate love is not what is portrayed on TV or in books.

But true, passionate love indeed does exist in this world, and I have been fortunate enough to experience it.

New Year’s Resolution #1. A title for my love story book.  Any suggestions????

20121229-213530.jpg

This was my hideout for many hours as I read this book over two days…I’m sure my sis is grinnin’.

Creative Memories was hot in the 90s when we got married.  My wedding book is still not 100% complete....and totally dated.  But I am thrilled that I took the time to have each of us write out our first impressions of each other.

Creative Memories was hot in the 90s when we got married. My wedding book is still not 100% complete….and totally dated. But I am thrilled that I took the time to have each of us write out our first impressions of each other.

This page tells a story in pictures...only thing missing is the picture of Joe in his cowboy duds.

This page tells a story in pictures…only thing missing is the picture of Joe in his cowboy duds.

OOPS!  Never got around to documenting the engagement.  However, it really isn't one that will go viral on YouTube.  I giggled when I read Marlboro Man's proposal...it was eerily similar to my cowboy's.  This picture is staged...the actual "will you marry me question?"  took place months before...and my reply was "huh?"

OOPS! Never got around to documenting the proposal. However, it really isn’t one that will go viral on YouTube. I giggled when I read Marlboro Man’s proposal…it was eerily similar to my cowboy’s. This picture is staged…the actual “will you marry me question?” took place months before…and my reply was “huh?”

90s called and they want their scissors, stickers and die cuts back!

90s called and they want their scissors, stickers and die cuts back!

