A couple of weeks ago, I was asked to be in my church’s promotional video for the 80s family skate night.

Well, I wasn’t asked.  Because I am one of the Children’s ministers at my church, I was told I was going to be in it.

At first, I was a bit frustrated about the whole thing.

For one thing, I really don’t enjoy being on videos that thousands of people watch.

For another, I typically hate to shop unless I know exactly what I am looking for and where I need to go to find it.

Plus, if you know me, you know I take costuming very seriously, and I was only given one day’s notice to come up with an outfit.  Simply not enough time to do it properly.

Needless to say, I had a bad attitude about the whole deal.

Then I did what I always insist my kids do….I changed my attitude.  I embraced the challenge.

My closet wasn’t much help to me, so I was off to an evening of shopping.  I dragged the kids to a couple of stores before my honey got home from work and rescued them.

Goodwill was good to me gracing me with the perfect lace skirt for a few dollars.  (Granted, in the 80s my parents would have NEVER let me wear a lace skirt)

Target did not disappoint with the best psychedelic earrings a girl could wish to find for 1.50 on a clearance rack.

My high school favorite, Ross, had leopard print tights and the perfect color of ‘Risky Business’ sunglasses.

But my 80s look would not be complete without a crimping iron.  No joke, I prayed that I would find one, but really never dreamed any store actually still sold them.

When I found the crimping iron, it was as if a light from heaven lit up behind the package and the angels sang “AHHHHHH” as I grabbed it off the shelf.   As I was checking out, the sweet, collegiate looking cashier said, “Oh I can’t believe these are coming back in style.  They were real popular in the early 2000s, I think it was.”

I was torn.

The defensive side of  me wanted to stand up for the iconic decade of my childhood, the 80s, which provided me with photo albums full of great memories despite the hair and fashion disasters.

The vain side of me won out.

“I know,”  was all I said, thinking maybe she had no idea that I indeed lived through the true crimping iron decade of the 80s and still owned my Cyndi Lauper and Wham tapes.

When I returned home late that evening, I told Joe to put on a classic 80s tune and prepare himself.  As I crimped my hair, I couldn’t help but smile because I realized that  crimping hair is like riding a bike…you don’t ever forget how to do it.

I applied the 80s signature blue eyeshadow, and I could hear the 16 year old version of my older sister giving me make-up advice (which I rarely EVER followed because I hated make-up).

Once the look was complete, I rounded the corner into the living room to the sound of Huey Lewis and the News.  I thought my Honey was going to collapse from shock when he saw me.  I don’t think I ever remember such joy radiating from his face.

The only words I could get out were, “Did you boys REALLY think this was pretty?” He didn’t answer, but only kept laughing.

Together we laughed and sang with Huey until we couldn’t laugh anymore.

The following day was the day of the video shoot, and I prayed that my hair would somehow recover from two days in a row of crimping.

Because of my schedule, I was forced to drive to the church for the shoot in my 80s get up and then straight to pick up my kids from school.

I don’t think I have ever been greeted with as many genuine smiles in my life.

One of my most serious coworkers stopped me in the parking lot and couldn’t quit smiling.  People at stop lights cranked their necks, and would quickly turn back with obvious smiles on their faces.  Parents in the school pickup line tried not to stare.

The poor gal at the Sonic Drive Thru window did a good job holding in her laugh, but as I looked in my rear view mirror I caught her sharing a laugh with her co-workers.

Crazy to even say this, but I don’t think I will ever forget that day.

There was something refreshing to my soul seeing so many people take a few seconds out of the hustle and bustle and seriousness of this life to allow themselves time to stop and smile.

Before I went on my treasure hunt for a crimping iron, the frugal part of me planned to take the crimping iron back to the store after I used it for the video shoot.

After that day, there is not a chance in the world that I will part with my crimping iron.  The world needs more crimped hair, scrunchies and psychedelic shirts, and girls who ‘Just Wanna Have Fu-hun.”

For whatever reason, these things all seem to take us all back to a happy place.

You should try it sometime.

A day of Crimped hair.

I promise you…it will do your heart good to see smiles on the faces of everyone around you

Oh.  And I have had many people tell me that they wanted to see the video.  I wasn’t going to post it on here.  However,  I decided that if my crimped hair can cause one more smile….it will be worth the embarrassment.

So here it is.

(DISCLAIMER…the blonde in this video is not a trained actor, but is a ‘girl that just wants to have fu-hun.’)

Count it on my sis to make sure every one on Facebook knew that I truly was a crimping ‘professional’ back in the day.

I took this photo at Sonic on the day of the video shoot. Brooklynn thought it was fun…I am sure that will change in a few years and she will be ducking down in the back seat if I do such a thing!

When 80s skate night arrived, I even pulled out my sacred collection of charms. I later found out that my case is the ‘holy grail’ to charm collectors . . . guess it’s a good thing I rescued it from the crushed cardboard box where I had it stored.

