Okay, I know I said that I would finish the story today…I lied.  I sat down this morning to copy and paste the remainder of what I wrote back in February onto my blog.  But I remembered an incredible part of the story that I didn’t include back in February.  So the portion of the story below is something I wrote today, December 8, 2011.  Sorry if I got your hopes up that you would have the full story today and you could stop coming to my blog.

Please forgive me.  God wanted ME to remember this part of the story because I really needed to be reminded today that He hears my prayers.  Writing the story below caused me to revisit the day that I drove into Tulsa for the very first time in 2008.  

So instead of wrapping up the story today, I felt like I should encourage you to read the words of a Brandon Heath song.  I have included a YouTube link if you would rather listen to it.  This morning listening to this song took me back to a moment when God reached His hand down from Heaven and used my hand to turn a radio dial so I could hear His voice.

 So I plan to wrap this story up tomorrow.  But….I can’t promise you. 

With our Uhaul packed, we once again left seminary with the excitement that comes from starting a new adventure.  However, anyone who has every moved knows that in the back of your mind is this fear that lingers.  Fear of the unknown.

I drove the entire trip alone to Tulsa, leading the caravan of the vehicles carrying all of our life’s possessions.  The entire trip I cried.  Though the previous months had been tough financially and spiritually, on that drive I cried buckets of tears from the sadness that comes from leaving dear friends and a city I considered home behind.

Our entire marriage we had been either seminary students or on church staff.  The vast majority of our friends and family had been supportive of our decision for Joe to accept a position in the ‘secular counseling world.’   There were a couple of naysayers who made us feel like we were ‘leaving the ministry,’ joining the ranks of thousands of others who couldn’t not take the heat of serving on a church staff.

On that trip, I cried out to God begging Him to calm my fears when the voices of the naysayers would fill my head.  I remember asking Him to overwhelm us with the joy that comes from living each day in faith and to give us signs and miracles along that way in the next few months that let us know we have heard His voice correctly and have indeed moved our family to where He is working and wanted to use our gifts to minister for Him.

When I prayed that prayer, we were just minutes outside of Tulsa.  I began scanning the radio to see if Tulsa had any Christian radio stations.  I stopped scanning when I heard the familiar voice of Brandon Heath singing “Na Na Na Na Na.”

I started singing along with the radio as I was gazing at the hills that greet you as you enter Tulsa from the west.    I looked out over those hills and thought about the fact that this was going to be our new home and that I knew not even one soul who lived in this city.

It took me to the chorus of the song to realize that God had just sent me my first sign.  The song I was singing was “Don’t Get Comfortable.”  I had heard it a hundred times before but never felt what I felt that day.  I knew that God had reached His hand down from Heaven and used my hand to turn a radio dial so I could hear His voice.

Comfortable, don’t get comfortable
I’m gonna move this mountain
Then I’m gonna move you in

Yesterday, this is not yesterday
You were standing on my shoulders
Now you’re standing on the edge
You were lookin’ for a sign all this time

I am gonna show you what I mean
I am gonna love like you’ve never seen
You are gonna live like you used to dream
This is your new song

So afraid that you don’t have to be afraid
Even if you make mistakes
You know that I’ll remain

You were lookin’ for a sign all this time
If you seek you find me every time

So I am gonna show you what I mean
I am gonna love like you’ve never seen
You are gonna live like you used to dream
This is your new song

Can you feel the call of love?
Is it moving you?
To be a child of God? Of love?
Is it reaching you?
It’s everywhere, the call of love

I just wanna show you what I mean
I just wanna love like you’ve never seen
Do you wanna live like you used to dream?
Then I got a song for you

‘Cause I am gonna show you what I mean
I am gonna love like you’ve never seen
You are gonna live like you used to dream
This is your new song, you got a new song

I will stop there for today.  Go listen to this song on YouTube and I will post more of the story tomorrow.   I hope to wrap it up…but I have been known to lie.

