I have trust issues.  There…..I said it and it is the truth of my heart.  I struggle to trust.

I needed to read John 14:1 over and over and over this week as I struggled with a troubled heart.

John 14:1 (NIV)
Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me.

In fact as I just copied and pasted that verse into this document a little lump formed in my throat.  I should trust.  I have seen AMAZING things happen when I ‘didn’t let my heart be troubled and I trusted.’  Yet…still I find myself having trust issues.

One thing I know…I am not alone in this.  I find comfort in knowing that the eleven men who were by Jesus’ side the night before He was to head on the path to the cross…those men were struggling to trust.

So, as I sit here struggling to entrust some aspects of my life to the divine plan of my Creator, I am comforted as I think of my own problems in the light of the promises Jesus gives me.  One of those promises is given later in the chapter as Jesus lets his disciples know He has a special gift for them…and Hallelujah…He’s given me the same gift

John 14:27 (NLT)
27 “I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.

As I wait for answers to some questions I have concerning the future, I must choose to trust.  If I do not choose to trust with my whole heart, my natural tendency will be to worry and lean on my own wisdom.  And let me tell you…those two things are a recipe for disaster…(just ask my sweet hubby and I’m sure he will gladly give you some examples of the many disasters that have occurred when I made decisions out of my own worry and ‘wisdom’…)

I can’t think of a better way to end this post than with this AMAZING promise…..

Proverbs 3:5-6 (NLT)
5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding.
6 Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.

Here’s some questions for you to think about from John 14….

1.  What things are the most difficult things for you to turn over to God and trust Him with in Your life? 

2.  John 14:14 tells us that we can ask for anything in His name, and He will do it.  Do you find it difficult to ask God to do things for you?  What things are easy for you to ask for from Him?  Why do you think some things are more difficult for us to ask Him to do?

3.  When we face problems in life, it is helpful to think of a time in the past that God has given us peace amidst life’s problems and trust that He will do it for us again.  Is there a time in your life when you felt supernatural peace even though you were surrounded by problems in life?

