Several weeks ago I mentioned that I would write a little about my own experience with fasting and praying.   With all the craziness in my life in the past months, I haven’t taken the time to sit down and write about it.  Today I was reminded of just why the discipline of fasting is a vital part of my spiritual life. 

Saturday was a fabulous day in our house.  My hubby and I worked together to get all the boxes unpacked, and by the end of the day we were able to drive both of the vehicles into the garage.  I went to bed feeling so lucky to have such a great husband who I can have fun doing the ‘not so fun’ things in life with. 

Not sure what happened.  But Sunday we both woke up on the wrong side of the bed.  (Why does this always seem to happen on Sundays???)  All day long, my hubby’s actions irritated me.  I didn’t do such a good job containing my irritation with him.  

I wasted a lot of mental energy on some things that in the ‘grand scheme’ of life are not as important as I had convinced myself that they were. 

So, this morning I woke up on the RIGHT side of the bed, determined not to waste any more thoughts.  It was a perfect day for a fast.  To refocus my mind and heart, I abstained from eating breakfast and lunch.  With each hunger pang, I was reminded to pray. 

The result of the fast….a desire to fix my hubby one of his favorite meals.  It is something I learned to cook our very first year of marriage.  Two of his favorite things are mexican food & lasagna.  When I found a recipe for Mexican Lasagna, I knew I had to learn to make it for him….thus one of our family favorite meals was born! 

So, I thought I’d share with you the mexican lasagna that I cooked today out of obedience to the Holy Spirit….and by the way…the things that irritated me yesterday seem so so so silly now. 

2 pounds ground beef, 1 onion chopped, 1 clove minced garlic, 2 T. chili powder, 3 cups tomato sauce, 1 t. sugar, 1-2 t. salt, 1/2 c sliced black olives, 1 4-ounce can chopped green chiles

 

Brown meat and drain.  (today i used a mix of turkey/venison because that’s what I had!)  Add onions and garlic and cook until soft.  Sprinkle chili powder over meat and mix well. 

Add tomato sauce, sugar, salt, olives, and green chiles.  Simmer 15 minutes. 

2 cups small curd cottage cheese, 1 egg beaten, and 12 corn tortillas

 

While meat mixture simmers, soften tortillas (one at a time) in a small amount of olive oil (about 10-15 seconds on each side) and drain on paper towels. 

Beat together cottage cheese and egg.  Set aside. 

making the first layer....

 

In a 9 by 13 inch pan, place 1/3 meat mixture, followed by 4 oz Monterey Jack cheese, 1/2 the cottage cheese and 1/2 the tortillas.  Repeat the process ending with meat sauce on top.  Cover with grated Cheddar cheese. 

Bake 30 minutes at 350 degrees. 

Here it is...mexican lasagna! Tastes like other mexican casseroles that I have eaten before but for me this one has special memories attached to it!

 

 After having not eaten all day ….I was quite ready to dig in! 

I top EVERYTHING with avocados...

 

I also wanted to include one more picture…I got my breakfast nook (which is our dining room because the real dining room is an office/art room) set up today…including the curtains that I bought my first year of marriage and I have hung them in all SEVEN of the houses we have lived in over the past 10 years!  I really don’t think I’ll ever be able to part with those old things! 

Wallpaper...no matter how hard you try it is difficult to make a room look great when there is ugly wallpaper! But since we are renting we just have to make the best of it....

 

Why do I fast?  Because my mind is tempted to wander from the things I love.  The discipline of fasting helps me to refocus my thoughts on God’s Word and makes me more sensitive to the guidance of the Holy Spirit… There are times in my life when a fast ended in a life changing decision.  However, sometimes the result of my fasts are as simple as a Mexican Lasagna. ps…my reward…a hubby who is in the kitchen right now making me my favorite blueberry/banana smoothie!  That right there is reason enough to fast!

