Setting goals and challenging myself to reach them used to be a huge part of who I was. The first two decades of my life were spent staring at a goal and throwing a basketball at it.  There was a time in my life that the date January 1st, 2010 would have set my heart racing with excitement.  A new year.  A new decade.  A sort of blank slate for life.  Excitement is not necessarily the term I would use for the way I feel as I think about beginning a new decade of my life.  Honestly, I feel a myriad of emotions as I think about pressing forward into the twenty teens.

 For the month prior to my 10 year wedding anniversary I spent a lot of time reflecting on the young gal I was when Joe met and fell in love with me.  During my time of reflection, many things came to surface as I thought about who I was then and who I have become.  In some ways (good and bad !) I am very much the same person.  However, I came up with a short list of qualities I possessed as a 23 year old that somehow disappeared or faded amidst the storms of life and the taking on of the roles of wife and momma.  I hope to recapture some of those qualities!

 On that list of qualities is the fact that I used to be a purposeful goal setter who was very disciplined to do the things that I needed to do to accomplish the goals I had set for myself.  I desperately want to rekindle that passion.  This past year I had a taste of that passion as I set health and weight loss goals for myself and successfully worked to achieve them.    I set out to lose 10 pounds in 2009 and in the effort lost almost 20.  There is nothing like setting a goal and not only reaching it but exceeding it!

 As I looked back over my list of goals for 2009, I realized that over half of them are yet to be accomplished.  I have a tendency to look at that list with critical eyes and focus on what I failed to do instead of what great strides I made in 2009.  However, I refuse to journey down that destruction path of thinking.  I’ve been down that path before and it is not a place I want to revisit.

 This past week my dear friend Jill and I did our exchange of yearly goals.  I am very humbled by the fact that I have a friend who prays for me in these areas.  I actually give Jill (the one whose idea it was to exchange goals in the first place) the credit for the fact that I now am the owner of two pair of SKINNY jeans! 

 As a former basketball player, I am very familiar with the term ‘follow-through.’  When a basketball player is learning to shoot, a coach often tells them to ‘check your follow- through.’  The follow-through is the natural ending spot of your arms and hands after the ball has been released towards the basketball goal.  A passionate basketball player will spend countless hours perfecting the follow-through of his or her shot.

 The past two weeks I have been ‘checking my follow-through’ of last year’s goals.  Just as I missed many a basketball shots because I took my eye off the goal,  the reason I did not accomplish my goals was because I lost focus.  I am reminded of Philippians 3:13b and 14 (if you read this post you know this chapter of Philippians helped get me through one of the most difficult times in my life).  . .forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

 This year I am determined to stay focused on the reasons for my goals in the first place:  to glorify God and to reach others for His kingdom.  Everything, even losing ten pounds, should be motivated by those two things. This year I am keeping my goals in a place where I will be forced to ‘check my follow through’ daily.  Never was much of a three point shooter, but maybe this year I will go for it and launch one!!! 

 Stay tuned…I know that I said I would not continue this blog…but after dozens of emails I have been prayerfully considering just what to do with the requests for me to continue writing.  I have something up my sleeve…it is one of my goals for this year…so check back in a few days or sign up with your email on the blog and you’ll find out what I plan on doing.  Oh, and if I get up the nerve…I may share my goals with you.

