I really don’t intend for this blog to be a commentary on how I lost weight.  So I decided I should break away from that topic for now.  Yesterday was one of those great days…nothing extra special just an all and all great day.  I managed to get in a little “list” work  (you know the list that it the basis of my 40 day challenge…if I were a true blogger I would include an easy link to that list but I don’t have time in my life to figure out all those details so if you really want to know just look under the marriage category I set up….remember I’m a sucker for making categories, so I took the time to figure that one out!!!)

Yesterday morning I had a special morning planned for the class I teach.  For three semesters I have taught a class at my church www.tcabc.com for people who are new to the Tulsa area.  In the class we use the book “After the Boxes are Unpacked:  Moving on after Moving In.”  If you have ever moved before, you understand that there are a myriad of emotions you must work through as you adjust to a new city, church, school, neighborhood, etc.  Since I have had a lot experience dealing with emotions linked to the many moves I have made in my life, I have been honored to lead this class.  Each semester has been amazing.  Lots of laughs (mostly at my stories because I have some GOOD moving mishap stories!) and lots of tears…because moving is so doggone emotional!

So, with the fire in my pants from the list Joe made me, I decided it was time this week for me to focus on encouraging my friends.  Already this week I had I prayed for the Holy Spirit to lead me to just the right people who needed encouragement.   I was led to take dinner to one friend who has a crazy busy week this week.  I also sent out many emails and texts to friends I felt led to encourage (I use to hand write hundreds of cards and letters a year to friends, but I decided to work slowly back into that…for now text and email will have to do!!)

So I prayed for a special way to encourage the gals in the class I teach.  Instead of sitting in a classroom, I had the girls pile up in my car and I took them over to see a lady who has become one of my dearest friends.  Some of you will remember the family that I have been helping out in the ministry at my church called “Clean Slate” (if you are my friend on Facebook I have an album back in June of this).  Our first stop was to visit my dear friend Debra, who is a grandmother raising her 5 grandchildren while their mom serves a prison sentence .  Debra, whom everyone calls Grandmommy, has become one of the biggest encouragements in my life.  I signed up for this ministry thinking that I would somehow be an encouragement to her, but then BAM!!! I realized I needed her in my life as much or more than she needed me.  I took the girls over to meet Grandmommy and we sat in her living room floor and folded laundry for her (you can imagine what a job laundry is with 5 kiddos)

We were only there about 30 minutes.  However, that is all it takes.  All anyone needs is a glimpse into the life of someone like Grandmommy and your own problems ‘grow strangely dim’ (to borrow words from one of my all time favorite hymns) in the light of the blessings God has given you.  Somehow, my own day to day problems seem quite small after spending just a few minutes with Grandmommy. 

Then every good outing MUST  include a stop at a coffee shop.  Once again God knocked my socks off this week.  I had really been hoping to take the gals in my class out for brunch and be able to say “it’s on me!”.  Well, in all honesty, our family budget does not allow much room to do things like that.  Still it was something I had really been wanting to do.  Sure enough, this week I got an unexpected check from someone who had ordered some hairbows from me back in August and had forgotten to mail me a check (and I had forgotten about it too!)   This is only one of the many times God has laid something on my heart and then provided the means for me to do it! 

One of the reasons I started this blog was because I felt led that someone who would be reading it would find encouragement in the words I would write or the pictures I would post (because you know me…I am going to post the TRUE LIFE pictures!)  So my friends, today be encouraged.  Let me write a little more of that hymn I mentioned.  Maybe you need to just close your eyes and sing it out to the Lord today…I know I do!

Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus by Helen Lemmel, 1922

O soul, are you weary and troubled?
No light in the darkness you see?
There’s a light for a look at the Savior,
And life more abundant and free!

Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face,
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His glory and grace.

Through death into life everlasting
He passed, and we follow Him there;
Over us sin no more hath dominion—
For more than conquerors we are!

His Word shall not fail you—He promised;
Believe Him, and all will be well:
Then go to a world that is dying,
His perfect salvation to tell!

